Iraqi Candidate Disqualification Update

by James Danly and Marisa Cochrane Sullivan

 April 29, 2010

 View the full report


This backgrounder provides the names of potentially disqualified parliamentary seat winners from the recent Iraqi elections and details the consequences if the move is upheld.

 Seven of the eight names of the Accountability and Justice Commission’s additional candidates for disqualification, based upon the de-Baathification law, were released today by Haider al-Mullah, spokesman for the Iraqi List. These individuals join Ibrahim al-Mutlak, who was among the 52 candidates named prior to the election, but whose disqualification at the time was denied by IHEC for having been named too late in the election process.On April 26, 2010, the three-judge election panel nullified their candidacies in response to an appeal submitted by the State of Law List, led by Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki. 


Read the previous factsheet